gLASSsHRIMP live at the Buffalo Bar 26th July 2008

Glockenspiel

(originally posted in the other place)

Well, that seemed to go pretty well. First up on this gLASSsHRIMP night were Glockenspiel, who recently supported Stars of the Lid in Birmingham, were typically excellent: all big fuzzy guitar drones and bowed cymbals. I’m a big fan, as you may remember. Giant Paw were insane, proper firemen’s helmets and animal heads on poles insane, and inspired some vigorous manly giration down front. They Came From The Stars, I Saw Them (thankfully) packed the place out and brought the roof down – even I was doing the rabbit/seal/monkey dance, and I’m not one for doing rabbit/seal/monkey dances normally. Before and between, I was tag-teaming with The Lost Chord of Atlantis and her psych/folk/prog/pop/trucker (!) set, which forced me into parts of my record collection I probably don’t venture into enough these days.

Giant Paw

So the following things that I played were interspersed with the likes of Bowie, Family, and Taj Mahal that she played (I’m bugging her for a list):

Glen Campbell “Guess I’m Dumb”
Bill Fay “Omega Man”
Brother Ah “Transcendental March”
Sun Ra “Rocket Number Nine”
Albert Ayler “New Generation”
White Noise “Here Come The Fleas”
Brute Force “Monster”
Dorothy Ashby “Soul Vibrations”
Captain Beefheart “Zig Zag Wanderer”
Soft Machine “We Did It Again”
Kim Weston “Eleanor Rigby”
The Fall “I Can Hear The Grass Grow”
Dixie Cups “Iko Iko”
This Heat “Health and Efficiency”
Ennio Morricone “Giorno Di Notte”

I’ve put the first dozen up on the muxtape site. The last three are here. Enjoy.

Dixie Cups “Iko Iko”

This Heat “Health and Efficiency”

Ennio Morricone “Giorno Di Notte”

They Came From The Stars, I Saw Them

*EDIT* I’ve just been sent Rebecca’s set list, which was as follows, but not in this order.

Roy Harper “Nobody’s Got Any Money In The Summer”
Spirit “I Got A Line On You”
The Poppy Family “There’s No Blood In Bone”
Derek Martin “Daddy Rollin’ Stone”
Bobby Sykes “Diesel Smoke & Dangerous Curves”
Soft Machine “Teeth”
Donovan “Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)”
Kingdom Come “Time Captives”
Wallace Collection “Daydream”
The Sonics “Leave My Kitten Alone”
Ramases “Balloon”
Family “Observations From A Hill”
Taj Mahal “A Lot of Love”
David Bowie “Andy Warhol”
The Cars “Moving In Stereo”

Some great and typically obscure stuff in there. I really should spread some Poppy Family love, shouldn’t I?

The Poppy Family “There’s No Blood In Bone”

1 Comment

  1. What do you guys use for equipment? I’m intrigued. The guitar tone is unique.
    -Alex-


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Nov »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031