gLASSsHRiMP radio: preview Tues 11th Jan 2011

broadcast live on Resonance104.4FM & streaming from resonancefm.com
live music from Darren Hayman

– unveiling today’s song from the January Songs project; see more about this in Darren’s words below…


Darren Hayman – January Songs

http://januarysongs.tumblr.com/
Darren Hayman has decided to write, record and release a song everyday during January 2011. Every song will be released as a high quality download and will be be completely free for a limited period of time.’It’s an experiment to see what will happen to my creativity. Being a musician is essentially an easy job and even though I consider I work hard I wanted to see what would occur when I imposed a strict discipline on my songwriting’.’I’m not expecting every song to be good or successful but I am expecting the imposed time restrictions to lead me somewhere unlikely and exciting. I have decided to release the songs for free because I also didn’t want any commercial considerations to spoil the party’. ‘I’m also tired of trying to work out how to make money from music. New fan funding sites have broken my heart with what they have persuaded musicians to sell. I thought I’d give it away and see what happens’.’I’m expecting to have the time of my life. I get to do my favourite thing every day all day’.’I’ve got a lot of my friends to help me out; The Wave Pictures, Terry Edwards, Allo Darlin, The Voluntary Butler Scheme and Ballboy as well as total strangers and musicians across the globe in virtual link ups. Trumpets, harps, saws, synthesizers, saxophones and Spanish Flamenco bands are all due to appear’.’As well as writing the songs I will draw, write and film throughout the days. Pages of my journal will be scanned and appear at http://januarysongs.tumblr.com/ alongside mini movies and the actual songs’. ‘On the 6th and the 30th Jan I plan to play live shows where I will play that day’s song. On 11th Jan I will broadcast that day’s song on Resonance FM’.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec    
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31